Sometimes You Just Need to Try it Once

May 9, 2013 § 1 Comment

I usually don’t eat fast food, but while we were in New York yesterday, we were in Harlem waiting for a show to begin and there weren’t too many dinner options in the neighborhood. We finally came across a White Castle, a somewhat culturally iconic American fast food establishment.

The prices here are really cheap. Granted, the sliders are tiny (there are 4 included in one meal package), but you can get one for 79 cents! I don’t know when was the last time I saw something that costs under $1. I decided to try one original slider, which is a beef patty with pickles and ketchup, and a chicken breast slider, which is a little fried chicken patty with melted cheese. I also ordered a small soda, which came in a really large cup! I’m sure it was at least 24 oz, which is at least a medium at other fast food establishments.

Image

The sliders come in cute little cartons. One is slightly smaller than the palm of my hand, and I have really small hands!

Image

This experience reminded why I don’t like eating fast food. The sliders weren’t bad-tasting, but they just didn’t taste like…food. The buns were soft and squishy, and the thin patty had a generic meat-like flavor. I ate it in about three bites and it was quite unsatisfying. The chicken slider was a bit better ($1.49), as the chicken breast at least seemed to be made of real meat, albeit covered in a crunchy fried coating.

I tried a few of my friend’s crinkle-cut fries and onion rings. The onion rings were tasty, though we noticed the suspicious lack of actual onions in each ring, so much so that we began to call them “ring rings” rather than onion rings.

After the meal, I didn’t really feel like I had eaten anything – maybe the food was so processed that my stomach did not need to digest anything and was confused? But there was definitely a caloric impact, as I didn’t feel the need to eat anything until almost 6 hours later, almost unheard of for me since I’m usually a snacker.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Sometimes You Just Need to Try it Once

  • bdsp37 says:

    I write burger reviews and I totally agree with this post! However, I freaking love these damn things so much! I love a good burger, but sometimes I’ve gotta slum it up with some sliders.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sometimes You Just Need to Try it Once at Scrumptious Beginnings.

meta

