Restaurant Review: Founding Farmers

July 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

Founding Farmers, offering farm-to-table American food, is the trendy spot to be right now. This restaurant in Foggy Bottom, right in the IMF building, is packed all night, every night, with a large crowd waiting for a table. It’s essential to get a reservation – last week a friend and I tried to get in for dinner on a Saturday and were told that it would be a 1.5 hour wait. We decided to make a reservation for this week, Saturday at 7, which was a great decision. We were seated after about 5 minutes at a nice table upstairs.

The menu has a little bit of everything – burgers, sandwiches, pasta, flatbread, seafood, steak. I heard that they are famous for their chicken and waffles. I decided to go with an entree under the vegetarian category, the rolled egg white omelet with sides of succotash, Farmer’s Salad, and mashed potatoes.

The omelet was a generous size, and it was stuffed with the vegetable succotash (a combination of zucchini, carrots, peas, green beans, and cauliflower sautéed with butter). I really enjoyed the vegetables, though I thought the omelette itself was a bit greasy and lacking flavor.

The Farmer’s Salad was terrific – I should have gotten an entree portion of it! It included chunks of avocado, large slivers of parmesan cheese, tomatoes, and almonds, dressed in a champagne vinaigrette. All the ingredients were very fresh and crisp, and even in the small portion I received I could tell the combination of flavors was spot-on.

The service was very prompt – I had my water filled at least five times, from a glass jar placed on our table, and the waiter literally had our credit cards back to us in about thirty seconds after picking up the bill. The place is a bit pricey but it really depends on what you order – my omelet was $12 for a large plate of food, and my friend ordered a cheeseburger for $10. Obviously, the seafood and meat-based entrees cost more, but eating here does not have to break the bank.

I would love to come back and try some more dishes – maybe I should make another reservation!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Restaurant Review: Founding Farmers at Scrumptious Beginnings.

meta

