Restaurant Review: Sweetgreen

June 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

First – I promise I am going to stop eating out all the time! I went to Trader Joe’s and bought $40’s worth of food that I can use for lunch and dinner. In fact, I am currently microwaving a sweet potato as I write this post! But before I stocked my fridge, I had brunch with a few friends at this place on George Washington University campus called Sweetgreen. It is a similar concept to Chop’t, as both have a make-your-own salad option. The place was pretty empty for noon on a Sunday, and first we were worried that it wasn’t open.

The price and selection are comparable to Chop’t. At Sweetgreen, you start off with a lettuce base and 4 free vegetable toppings at around $6. Then you can add cheeses and meat for an additional cost. I chose a romaine base with tomatoes, roasted broccoli, mushrooms, cucumbers, and a dijon mustard dressing. They ask if you would like light, medium, or heavy dressing, and the light option was definitely plenty. I added half an avocado for $1.25. It was a terrific decision – they literally scoop out half a perfectly ripe avocado and mix it into the salad.

On the side, I got a big piece of multigrain bread. I enjoyed the bread a lot; it was soft on the inside and had a great chewy crust. Sorry about the odd green tint to the photos – not sure how that happened! Maybe I accidentally left the setting on night vision…

The size of the salad was a lot smaller than the ones at Chop’t, though I appreciated the more diverse topping options. The roasted broccoli was delicious, and the mushrooms were cooked (I despise raw mushrooms!). The avocado chunks were the best part, and of course I left them for last. I think I’m done with salad places though. I could make them same salad for so much cheaper, if I put in a little effort and go out and buy all the ingredients, and now I can, with my recent grocery load!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Restaurant Review: Sweetgreen at Scrumptious Beginnings.

meta

