Lemon Sour Cream Muffins

January 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

Do you ever try out a new recipe just to use up ingredients in the fridge? In my family’s fridge there is a huge bottle of lemon juice as well as a tub of sour cream. Therefore, when I found this recipe for lemon sour cream muffins, I knew I had to make them.

The other ingredients were basic, everyday items such as flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and butter. It was really simple – just mix the dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately, make a well in the dry ingredients, pour in the wet ingredients, and mix together.

The resulting muffins are fluffy, cake-like, and not too sugary, for those of us without a big sweet tooth.

I figured, while the oven is on, I might as well make a healthy side to eat with my muffins. I chopped up some broccoli and kabocha squash to roast in a pan alongside the baking muffins.

If you’ve never tried kabocha squash, also known as Japanese pumpkin, you have not really lived. I am not joking. This winter squash is out of this world delicious – dense, intensely sweet, with an almost chestnut-like taste. You can eat the skin too, as it becomes soft after cooking. It’s such a vibrant, nutritious, yet simple food. I usually steam it or roast it in the oven.

Lesson of the day: go try kabocha squash if you haven’t already! Usually Asian grocery stores stock them.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lemon Sour Cream Muffins at Scrumptious Beginnings.

meta

